Equal Rights

I don’t know how many of you out there have been following what happened recently in New York.  The exciting thing that there is gay marriage in 30 days.  I am excited that another state has moved forward in bringing equal rights closer for all people.

What I found interesting is how the Catholic Church among other churches first was lobbying against the passage.  Saying it is in the bible and that is how God created it to be.  Well first didn’t know that God had a direct line to anyone person to say exactly what he/she wants for marriage.  If you even look at the bible marriage was a contract between two men over the property one owned.  Yeah women were property to men.  If that is what the church wants us to go back to they should be lobbying that the laws change to only allow men to arrange marriage for women.

The other thing I thought was interesting that there was a push to make sure that churches and property that they owned could not be used for a gay marriage.  I am not sure what the final law says but I understand they were also trying to protect businesses from having to be required to do or participate in gay marriages.  To this I would say if I was going to have a marriage I wouldn’t want to have it in a place that was not accepting of me why would I want to go there for my marriage or even go there to worship.  If a business doesn’t want to my money because of my sexuality then why would I spend my money there.  There are choices in the world and I will be make choices for my happiness and who will respect me.

Marketing to GLBT community has become a billion dollar industry and as a community I am sure there are accepting businesses that would love to have a part of the income.  To New York elected officials thanks for taking the stand for equality.  For those who voted against it well I hope you can live with your conscious.

Author: cadmus38

I am living in Albuquerque, New Mexico enjoying the good life. I love getting out and about in the outdoors. I am an award winning photographer. I like meeting new people and getting to know them. Feel free to contact me with questions or suggestions of topics you would love to hear my thoughts on

Leave a Reply

