Walk in my Shoes

I don’t know how much you follow politics.  Governor Rick Perry of Texas is going to host a religious event in Texas and invited all of his fellow governors to attend.  Guess how many said they would come to the event?  One said he was going to come and now is backing out.  So why would they not respond to his request.  Well the group he is partnering with for this event says that all gay rights that have been achieved should be taken away.  They are a group from the extreme right.

According to Perry each state should allow for gay marriage or other rights.  He however believes there needs to be a constitutional amendment at the federal level.  Okay now in my book that means he wants it both ways.  In his mind he feels that gay people are wrong in what they feel and do.  I would guess he is one of those who thinks that being gay is a choice and that they can be fixed with repairative therapy.  As to therapy issue it is very clear what American Psychological Association and American Psychiatric Association say that this therapy can cause damaged and that there is nothing to repair when it comes to gay, lesbian, and bisexual men and women.

As to our rights how would he feel if there was a movement to take away all his rights to inheritance and to make decisions for his spouse.  What if we worked to take away the tax breaks for being married.  How about if his spouse were to die we take the right to have his kids.  As a society we have given a lot of rights to heterosexual marriage.  As a society we need to allow others to have the opportunity to the same basic rights.

Now I have heard some of these far right politician say they don’t understand how someone who says they are gay can really do such actions.  I say I don’t understand how some who says they are straight can really do such actions.

Author: cadmus38

I am living in Albuquerque, New Mexico enjoying the good life. I love getting out and about in the outdoors. I am an award winning photographer. I like meeting new people and getting to know them. Feel free to contact me with questions or suggestions of topics you would love to hear my thoughts on

1 thought on “Walk in my Shoes”

Leave a Reply

