Pray the Gay away

This political season has brought out some strange people.  One of the presidential candidates says he believes a gay  person can pray the gay away.  Why do they think that something needs to be changed.  They make their argument based on a book that was written centuries ago and a book that has been interpreted by people. They say that their faith makes them say what they say.  Okay so my question is why does their faith have to be my faith?  Where in the bible does it say that my faith has to be the same as the person down the street?  Do we look a like?  Do we have the same hair? Do we have the same eye?  Are we even the same gender?  The answer will be no to all of the questions.  So then why does my faith have to be the same?  So to those idiots who say that I need to be the same as them I say jump off a cliff.  I am going to me who I am.  I am happy with my sexuality and personality.  I will not pray the gay away.

Author: cadmus38

I am living in Albuquerque, New Mexico enjoying the good life. I love getting out and about in the outdoors. I am an award winning photographer. I like meeting new people and getting to know them. Feel free to contact me with questions or suggestions of topics you would love to hear my thoughts on

1 thought on “Pray the Gay away”

  1. Good questions! I’m not sure they insist that their faith has to be your faith or that they are asking you to “pray the gay away.” As a gay man who is also a man of faith, I may be able to offer some helpful insight here. You are correct that they say that their faith makes them say what they say. Buy fact is their faith does not say these things. Their erroneous interpretations of their faith makes them say these things.

    In light of all the commotion over homosexuality, one would think the Bible has a lot to say on the subject. It does not. There are only five or six verses in the entire Bible that have been interpreted as addressing or condemning homosexuality. These verses, often referred to as the “clobber passages”, because they are frequently used to clobber or bash gay people today, are verses taken out of their contexts to proof-text the Bible’s alleged anti-homosexual stance.

    Fact is Bible scholars and others are increasingly coming to understand that these few verses have been taken out of their historical and social contexts and forced them to say things they were never meant to say. In connection with this, gay people who are of faith are increasingly coming to understand that one does not have to choose between either faith or an authentic life as gay man or women. Phrased diffenetly, they don’t have to “pray the gay away”. Moreover, the “pray the gay away” folks who disturb you will at one point in the not-too-distant future look as out of date as images of George Wallace do, standing on the steps of the University of Alabama preventing James Hood from entering because he was black.

    -Alex Haiken
    http://jewishchristiangay.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

