Whose Listening

Okay this should be interesting to see what you all have to say about today’s post.  For those who know me and what I do one thing you know is I travel a lot.  Recently I was checking out of a Hampton Inn and the woman at the front desk asked how my stay had been.  My response was very noisy they put me in a room by the elevator.  I figured I would get I am sorry or even why was it noisy?  The response I got was “that’s nice have a good day.”

Now I was not sure how to respond to that comment.  It was clear that the women was not listening to me.  It was also clear she was not serious about the question she was asking.  It made me think about how often do we ask people a question and not really listen to their response.  Think about it, how many times have you asked someone how their day is going  only to get a response you did not expect and say a standard response back that was not appropriate.

I have a job that requires listening to people so maybe I am a little more aware of communications with people.  But I really think that people don’t really think about how the communicate with others.  I think part of it is that people are so into themselves that they don’t listen to those around us.  We really need to slow down and listen to each other and what we are saying.

Author: cadmus38

I am living in Albuquerque, New Mexico enjoying the good life. I love getting out and about in the outdoors. I am an award winning photographer. I like meeting new people and getting to know them. Feel free to contact me with questions or suggestions of topics you would love to hear my thoughts on

Leave a Reply

