Coming out

I know I am a day late on this but I did want to make a post.  October 12 was National Coming Out Day.  I had not really thought about it in previous years.  I didn’t pay attention since I was not out.  What changed was that a year ago I came out to my family.  That was the last step in me being out to everyone.  Now the fact that I am out does mean that I tell everyone I meet that I am gay.  I am just more comfortable with telling people if the issue comes up.

Now this day is important because there are people out there who can’t be who they are because of family or other economic reasons.  The sad thing is that for some it could still result in physical injury if the come out.  What is threatening about another person’s sexuality?  The fact is that sexuality is a very personal experience even for those in this world who like multiple partner settings.  So if someone is gay or bisexual what does it matter?  Sexuality is but a small part of who a person is in the world.  My sexuality does not govern my every decision.  So if you know of someone who is struggling to come out support them and allow them to become the person they are meant to be.

Author: cadmus38

I am living in Albuquerque, New Mexico enjoying the good life. I love getting out and about in the outdoors. I am an award winning photographer. I like meeting new people and getting to know them. Feel free to contact me with questions or suggestions of topics you would love to hear my thoughts on

Leave a Reply

