Ending of a generation

This week I had a great aunt who died.  She was the oldest of 12 kids and my grandfathers sister.  She was one of three left for the siblings.  She was 98 years old.  This made me think about what we lose when an older generation leaves this earth.

As I talk to younger people they seem to think that people who are older than them are ancient.  Reality is that our past and those of older generation are what makes us who we are.  I still remember the day that my grandparents were so excited and proud the day I graduated from College.  The stories they told me about growing up and about what is it was raising my dad and uncles.  It was similar stories on the other side of the family as well.

I have been grateful that I had the opportunity to have know all of my grandparents in my life.  I still have one left and she still teaches me even now as an adult.  I know that she will still have more to teach and will be a part of my life till the day I die.

Author: cadmus38

I am living in Albuquerque, New Mexico enjoying the good life. I love getting out and about in the outdoors. I am an award winning photographer. I like meeting new people and getting to know them. Feel free to contact me with questions or suggestions of topics you would love to hear my thoughts on

Leave a Reply

