Test and testing

If you have not heard yet but there are a group of students in New York that are being accused of cheating on SAT.  Apparently there were people paid to take the test for others as well other methods.  Now I don’t know if these students are guilty or not and it is not for me to judge them for what they did or did not do.  But it leads me to ask the question why are students required to take these types of tests.

Now I have participated in these types of test prior to beginning my undergraduate studies and again when I applied to graduate school.  When I asked what the purpose of the test were in the application process I could not get a clear answer.  Later on when I was teaching at the university level and had work submitted to me by students I questioned again the purpose.  Students who did well on the tests did not do much better than students who did at a lesser level.  Friends who applied to law school or medical school again talk how their scores we not anymore important than some other aspects of their application.

Personally I have never been good at taking test of this format.  I have been successful in my life and looking back now I couldn’t tell you want my scores were and how they helped me become the person I am today.  Do we need these kinds of tests?  It is not for me to say but I do question still is there a purpose and how do they help?

Author: cadmus38

I am living in Albuquerque, New Mexico enjoying the good life. I love getting out and about in the outdoors. I am an award winning photographer. I like meeting new people and getting to know them. Feel free to contact me with questions or suggestions of topics you would love to hear my thoughts on

Leave a Reply

