Giving back to others

I recently saw a friends post where he said he wanted to volunteer more this coming year.  I think this is a great thing for people to do.  I myself do a lot of volunteering in my community.  I believe I need to be active in my community.  Some of my friends laugh and say with as much as I give to the community I could run for office.  That is now why I do it thought I like the feeling I get from helping others.

I myself server on two not for profit board and two professional boards.  That doesn’t include a couple of advisory board.  The interesting thing is that on most of these board a lot of the same people are serving.  I know that when we are looking for new board members we have a difficult time finding people to serve.  Why is it that people are less likely to give of their time.  Even when it comes to places that are important to us like say our Church it is the same people who are giving of their time.

Now one of the things I have heard said before is that people were waiting to be asked.  Well to that I say is have you ever told anyone you are interested in giving your time.  A number of the boards I have served on now and in the past I was there because I mentioned to someone I was interested.  Now I am not saying everyone needs to be as involved as me in their community.  What I am challenging everyone is to choose one organization this year and volunteer a little of your time.  I promise you it will make a difference in your life. One of the organizations I volunteer is Big Brothers Big Sisters and my little brother has made a difference in my life in a positive way and I hope I have done the same for him.

Author: cadmus38

I am living in Albuquerque, New Mexico enjoying the good life. I love getting out and about in the outdoors. I am an award winning photographer. I like meeting new people and getting to know them. Feel free to contact me with questions or suggestions of topics you would love to hear my thoughts on

Leave a Reply

