Church and Politics

I was looking at the front page of the local paper and there was an article about the local church and the recent issue of the government requiring birth control to be covered by insurance plans.  Now I am annoyed that people can take things and try to force religion on others.

Now I am a religious person in that I do have a spirituality.  What I get annoyed is when  church or denomination says you can’t do this or that because it says in the bible or the church says so.  I was taught growing up that my decisions are based on free will.  So if that is the case then why is the church saying I can’t do something.  How is it free will?

Now back to the issue of birth control and insurance coverage. Just because an insurance company is told they need cover it does not mean that someone has to use it.  Just because there is a bowl of condoms in school clinic does not mean the kids have to pick some up.  I think it is important that people have options.  They should have the option to have sex and they should have the option to avoid bringing an unwanted or unexpected child.

Why is the church so hot and bothered about this issue?  Personally I think the reason they want to get hot and bothered about this issue is because they don’t have the control over the people they used to have.  I personally don’t need someone controlling my life.

Author: cadmus38

I am living in Albuquerque, New Mexico enjoying the good life. I love getting out and about in the outdoors. I am an award winning photographer. I like meeting new people and getting to know them. Feel free to contact me with questions or suggestions of topics you would love to hear my thoughts on

Leave a Reply

