How far will you take a stand?

I don’t know if you have heard about an issue in Santa Fe, New Mexico.  A hairdresser said he will not longer cut the governor’s hair because of her stand on Gay Marriage.  It made the local news and then got picked up national news.

Now whether or not you agree on the issue is a different discussion.  What I wanted to focus on what would it take to stand for something you feel strongly about.  I know that personally I have a number of issues that I feel strong about and I would do something to let my voice be heard on those issues.  I know in the past I have made phone calls to legislators to them know my feelings on proposed laws and I have written letters.  I have signed petitions for various issues.  Now these are being active activities.  However, what this man did had an effect on his business.

Some may say that that is his thing and I hope that he is ready to lose business.  That may or may not happen.  We don’t know what will happen.  But we need to ask ourselves would I be willing to really take a stand even if it would have an effect my income.    It takes a lot guts to really take a stand for what you believe in.

Think about some of the great leaders who made a difference in our world such as Martin Luther King or Gandhi.   The stood for what they believed and really made a difference.  It is a real challenge I think to really stand for what you believe in.

 

Author: cadmus38

I am living in Albuquerque, New Mexico enjoying the good life. I love getting out and about in the outdoors. I am an award winning photographer. I like meeting new people and getting to know them. Feel free to contact me with questions or suggestions of topics you would love to hear my thoughts on

Leave a Reply

