Its the simple things

I am one of those lucky people that I have a job that makes me happy and that I love.  I get to do something everyday to make others lives a little better.  I am also good and what I do and have been rewarded for doing my job so well and have the support of my superiors in the company.  Which made me think about what does it take to make me happy?

Now I could write some long dissertation on what happiness is from a philosophical perspective but I am not though it would be fun.  I would have to say it is the simple things in life that give me pleasure and happiness.  Now that is not to say that financial rewards or material rewards mean nothing but only add to my happiness.  For me it is those interactions with others in my life that give me pleasure and happiness.

What are those you may ask?  Well for me it is the little nice things that people do for me like telling me I am doing a good job on some project or activity I am doing.  To take time to notice improvements in the way I look or dress.  Taking time to do something unexpected and nice for me.  Showing concern or care for me and well being.

Now for some you may say that is natural and should be done.  The reality is that a lot of people don’t have the support from family or friends in what they are doing in their life.  For some there at not those people in their lives who give them encouragement and support.  There are not people who are doing those little things to make life good for them.  Yeah we need to develop them but at the same time we need people to be open to others.

Now I am not saying we befriend the whole world.  That is not what we need to do.  We need to do the little things for others around us.  It may be as simple as thank you or have a nice day.  Those who are important in our lives may require greater efforts but it will make a difference in someone’s life.

Author: cadmus38

I am living in Albuquerque, New Mexico enjoying the good life. I love getting out and about in the outdoors. I am an award winning photographer. I like meeting new people and getting to know them. Feel free to contact me with questions or suggestions of topics you would love to hear my thoughts on

Leave a Reply

