Change is Required Growth is Optional.

We generally don’t realize that we go through changes on a daily bases.  Every person we meet or experience we have changes our life.    Depending on how close we are to the those people or how intense of an experience we had modifies us.

As I reflect on my life I can pinpoint where certain beliefs or strongly held ideas and how they were developed.   One very strong belief  I have is that I need to give back to the community.  It goes back to when I was kid and the things we did as family for others.  Even to this day my family still give back in different ways to the community.  Some of us are more involved in give than others but we still try to make a positive difference in the world.  I would call it a family value.

My grandfather taught me to be proud of who I am.  Sadly he is not around still but I still remember as a small child hearing my grandfather stand against injustice he experienced in his life or what he learned about.  He instilled in me that I need to be proud of who I am as a Hispanic man.  That has been a challenge at times because of the color of my skin.  As a person of color, I have heard things said to me that made me what to stand up for myself. At times people who confessed to be my friend have challenged me.  It has resulted in me being an advocate for those without voice.

Once last aspect of how I have been influenced by others is how I am optimistic.  I would consider myself a glass half full person.  For the me the road ahead is nothing but full of options that will only make life better.  Now that may seem short sited.  I accept that there will be bumps in the road because no road is perfect.  But I have the ability to make the road ahead nothing but amazing.  I am driving my future and I can keep it going in the right direction.  Some people may try to move me off course but I have the ability to keep on course and make the best of life.

Well I know that I have taken three really different perspectives here but I believe that they are connected and help make me a better person.  What you think?

p1274084.jpg

Author: cadmus38

I am living in Albuquerque, New Mexico enjoying the good life. I love getting out and about in the outdoors. I am an award winning photographer. I like meeting new people and getting to know them. Feel free to contact me with questions or suggestions of topics you would love to hear my thoughts on

Leave a Reply

