New is not always good

Yesterday I have the opportunity to see Raiders of the Lost Ark in one of the old theaters here in town.  There are only three of the original theaters left standing in town.  One is being used for concerts and I have never been inside so don’t know what it is like inside. Another theater has been remodeled inside and is the home for a dance company.  While it is nice it does not retain any of the original features other than the marquee.  The one I was in has been renovated and that artwork inside and outside was saved and repaired.  It has been used for small theater shows, small concerts, and film festivals.  It is a beautiful space.

IMG_2158

This made me reflect on what has happen in the world of movies.  I was able see this movie and get refreshments for less money than if I want one of the new movie theaters in town.  Granted it was not a new release but at the same time it got me thinking why are movies and snacks so expensive.  While I understand that making movies can be expensive.  At the same time  I hear about the millions that are made with each new movie.  Even when the movies are bad they still make millions.  I know we will never get back to the days of when movies and snacks were cheap.  I just wish that maybe those who make movies would think more about the fans who go to see the movies and give us a break.

Author: cadmus38

I am living in Albuquerque, New Mexico enjoying the good life. I love getting out and about in the outdoors. I am an award winning photographer. I like meeting new people and getting to know them. Feel free to contact me with questions or suggestions of topics you would love to hear my thoughts on

Leave a Reply

