Some people

Yesterday at work I had a call from a man who was yelling because he recieved a mailing from the company in Spanish. Now his exact words were “why are you sending me something in Mexican.”  He went on to tell me that this is America and we speak English.  The interesting thing is that the United States does not have an official language. Yes the majority of the country does use English as the primary language but other languages are spoke and used. In some parts Spanish can be used to draft legal documents.

What I find interesting about this persons knowledge is that after the Native American languages Spanish was used in what is now the United States first.  Spanish explorers were here long before the English and Plymouth Rock. The oldest capital in the United States is Santa Fe, New Mexico and guess what. Spanish was the language that was used.

The guy I talked too just kept yelling and when I kept trying to talk to him he would not even listen to me. I felt sorry for him because his closed minded thinking was not going to help him in anyway to be a productive member of society.

Author: cadmus38

I am living in Albuquerque, New Mexico enjoying the good life. I love getting out and about in the outdoors. I am an award winning photographer. I like meeting new people and getting to know them. Feel free to contact me with questions or suggestions of topics you would love to hear my thoughts on

Leave a Reply

